An amendment to the Regional Housing Law of Mexico, enacted in 2009, established the Northern Regional Housing Authority as one of three regional authorities in the state of New Mexico.

The Regional Housing Law structure in New Mexico is designed to standardize the delivery system for affordable housing development, affordable housing programs and services for families at the low and moderate-income levels throughout the rural areas of New Mexico.

The creation of the Northern Regional Housing Authority (“NRHA”) is a means to provide opportunities for assistance to the local housing authorities in need of developing affordable housing for low and moderate income families in their communities. Under the regional structure, the Northern Regional Housing Authority jurisdiction consists of the following counties: Colfax, Mora, San Miguel, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, McKinley, Cibola, San Juan and Taos.